Canadian Magazine Industry News
13 December 2016,    

Do you know a journalist or media employee whose work has been frustrated by a cloak of secrecy over the public’s right to know, or by legal manoeuvres or political intimidation? Do you know of a reporter who has risked his/her safety or reputation for the sake of free speech? If so, why not nominate him or her for the annual Press Freedom Award from the Canadian Committee for World Press Freedom?

This annual award goes to a journalist or media worker in Canadian print, digital or broadcasting who has made a significant contribution to freedom of expression, often by standing up to government or private interests that would thwart the reporting of events or stories of significant public interest, or by advancing press freedom through the subjects he or she reports on. Institutions that work towards the same objectives may also apply or be nominated.

Nominations based on work related to press freedom in 2016 are now open. The nomination deadline is Feb. 1, 2017.

The winner receives a $1,000 prize and a certificate from the Canadian Commission for UNESCO at the annual World Press Freedom Day Luncheon in in May, 2017.

“Like other media organizations around the world, we celebrate World Press Freedom Day to raise awareness for journalists who face hardships and even risk their lives to bring their stories to the public,” said Shawn McCarthy, chair of the Ottawa-based organization. “This year, we have seen increasing attacks on press freedom at home and abroad, and need to be vigilant in defence of this fundamental pillar of our democracy.”’

The 2016 press freedom award winner was Ben Makuch, a national security reporter with VICE News, who fought the RCMP’s attempts to seize his correspondence with a former Calgary resident alleged to be an ISIL militant. Other winners in the award’s 19-year history have included: Mohammed Fahmy (Al Jazeera English); Katherine Gannon (Associated Press); Michelle Lang, posthumously (Calgary Herald); Stephen Maher and Glen McGregor (Postmedia); Daniel Leblanc (Globe and Mail); John Hoey and Anne Marie Todkill (Canadian Medical Association Journal); Gilles Toupin and Joel-Denis Bellevance (La Presse); Tarek Fatah (Canadian Islamic Congress); Juliet O’Neill (Ottawa Citizen), Andrew McIntosh (National Post); Haroon Siddiqui (Toronto Star); and Kim Bolan (Vancouver Sun).

For more information, to apply for the award, or to nominate a deserving Canadian journalist or media worker, please  go to the nomination form.

The French version is available at this link

Story Tools
Most Recent News Comment
Jaded says:
Wow, Torstar really seems to be on a mission to bankrupt one magazine after another....
Most Recent Blog Comment
Lorene Shyba says:
Full of terrific information, Thanks!...
Special Reports
Masthead Web Edition Archives
More Archives