Canadian Magazine Industry News
4 May 2010,     TORONTO
Western Magazine Awards announce call for submissions
The Western Magazine Awards have opened up submissions for its 28 annual awards competition. 

Western Magazine Awards 2010 is now accepting nominations.
Western Magazine Awards 2010 is now accepting nominations.

Nominations for the 28 categories will be accepted from May 3 until June 4. Finalists will be announced in July 2010, both on the WMA website and via a blanket email.  Winners will be revealed in October. 

The four gold categories of best article for each region – Alberta/North West Territories, British Columbia/Yukon, Manitoba, and Saskatchewan ­– offer prizes of $1000 each to the winners. All written and visual category winners receive $750 each. 

Each submission is subject to a $75 entry fee, or $50 if the publication has a circulation less than 20,000. 

Lifetime achievement award nominations are open until June 18 with no submission fee. The award was introduced in 1998 and anyone in the magazine business can be nominated.   

Leading up to the awards, two days of professional development seminars called Magazines West will be hosted for it’s eighth year. 

For more information, visit


— Holly West
Story Tools
Most Recent News Comment
Jaded says:
Wow, Torstar really seems to be on a mission to bankrupt one magazine after another....
Most Recent Blog Comment
Marty Seto says:
Make Sure you Enter the COPAs this year. We have a FREE Covid-19 News category that is free to enter...
Special Reports
Masthead Web Edition Archives
More Archives