Canadian Magazine Industry News
2 May 2016,     TORONTO
2016 Emerge Media Awards winners announced
The winners for the 2016 Emerge Media Awards were announced last week at a dinner organized by UofGuelph-Humber’s fourth-year Public Relations students.


The Emerge Media Awards showcase the talent of students in Canadian colleges and universities in various mediums including: written word, multimedia production, photography, advertising, videography, graphic/digital design: editorial, audio storytelling and public relations.

And the winners are:

Written Word

First Place: Eric Wickham, Humber College, “God, the Court and the Scofflaw”
Second Place: Riyah Lakhani, MacEwan University, “A Refugee’s Tale”

Audio Storytellling

First Place: Melanie Hattie, University of King’s College, “The Fight for PTSD Service Dogs”
Second Place: Nicholas Bolton, Humber College, “Compelling Radio: Storytelling”


First Place: Karlo King, Mohawk College, “Cut the Cords”
Second Place: Kalyna Taras, Jenna Silta, Mac Kropf, Brad Curran, Mark Ventresca, Niagara College, “Inspiring Potential”

Public Relations

First Place: Ranziba Nehrin, Kaitlyn Patterson, Humber College, Media Kit: TFI Fashion House
Second Place: Emma Martin, Hayley Davison, Erin Donnelly, Christin Gillard, Catherine McCabe, Shelby Andrew, Brittaney Seguin, University of Guelph-Humber, Request for Proposal: Humber College Athletics


First Place: Heather Delph, Sheridan College, Toronto Food & Wine Festival Direct Mail Package
Second Place: Matthew McDougall, Mohawk College, “Tattoo”

Graphic/Editorial Design

First Place: Matthew Pariselli, Mahnoor Yawar, Jennifer Berry, Katherine Green, Alexandra Martino, Jessica Reyes, Sam Juric, Humber College, Shatter Magazine Cover
Second Place: Rachel Hamilton, Mohawk College, Hello Giggles Brochure


First Place: Jacqueline Gallant, Alex Vautour, Paige LeClaire, Nicole Munro, Kevin Lemieux, MacKenzie Riley, Mary Fahey, Patrick McCullough, Michael Bourgeois, Scott Hems, Dylan Hackett, St. Thomas University, “The Fog of Rape: Normalizing a Campus Crime”
Second Place: Sheridan Online News Production Team: Rachael Aragona, Taylor Gibara, Tariq Mashal, Max August, Quintin Bignell, Sheridan College, “May Contain Plastic”

First Place: Jesse Hebert, University of Windsor, “Dinner for One”
Second Place: Oliver Hannak, Niagara College, Series of Emulated Advertisements
Story Tools
Most Recent News Comment
Jaded says:
Wow, Torstar really seems to be on a mission to bankrupt one magazine after another....
Most Recent Blog Comment
Marty Seto says:
Make Sure you Enter the COPAs this year. We have a FREE Covid-19 News category that is free to enter...
Special Reports
Masthead Web Edition Archives
More Archives