Canadian Magazine Industry News
4 May 2012,     TORONTO
Canadian Online Publishing Awards open for entries
Canada’s premier awards show for online and digital publishers is gearing up for its fourth year. Produced by Masthead, we’re pleased to announce several enhancements to the Canadian Online Publishing Awards based on feedback from award participants. (Thanks to everyone who answered our survey!)


New Data Visualization Category: Awarded to the best use of data visualization technology for journalistic purposes (e.g. interactive maps, animated infographics). Judges will evaluate how well the authors have communicated and presented the relevant information, including ease of use, design, and originality.

New 2012 COPA Yearbook: The Who’s Who of Digital Publishing in Canada. Many of you asked for better access to the winners. So in addition to the COPA online gallery with links and credits for all winners and finalists, we’re producing a book! (Yes, we know, irony.)

COPA revellers and winners from 2011
COPA revellers and winners from 2011

In 2012, all winners, finalists and sponsors will be published in the new 2012 COPA Yearbook: The Who’s Who of Digital Publishing in Canada. This beautifully printed book will be distributed to all attendees of the 2012 COPA Awards event in Toronto in October (included in the price of the event ticket). Extra copies will also be available for online ordering.

Also watch for news about an exciting new venue for the 2012 COPA awards event. We’ve outgrown our home for the last three years, so we’ll be moving to a new downtown Toronto location. Same great vibe, just more space!

As always, the COPAs honour the very best in editorial-based online and digital publishing, divided into three divisions:
  • Blue Division: Digital journalism from business-to-business, professional association, farm, and scholarly publishers
  • Red Division: Digital journalism from consumer, custom, religious, and public association publishers
  • Green Division: Digital journalism from newspapers and broadcasters
The 15 categories in each division cover design, writing, and packaging, in different digital formats including websites, tablet editions, digital replicas and apps.

The COPAs cover work published between June 1, 2011 and June 22, 2012. The entry deadline is June 22, 2012, with an early-bird date of June 1 to save $20 per entry.

To enter now, click here.

To follow COPA news, sign up for the Masthead Express e-newsletter or follow us on Twitter at @Mastheadmag or #COPAwards.

Story Tools
Most Recent News Comment
Jaded says:
Wow, Torstar really seems to be on a mission to bankrupt one magazine after another....
Most Recent Blog Comment
Lorene Shyba says:
Full of terrific information, Thanks!...
Special Reports
Masthead Web Edition Archives
More Archives